Does this sound like a Craig’s list / ebay scam and is it illegal to impersonate a military col. ?
April 14th, 2010Below are a string of email from a guy who posted a car on craig’s list:
"John G. Clarke" <johngclarke7@gmail.com> wrote:
Hi there, I’m glad you’re interested in my car.
This is a 2006 Mercedes-Benz R-Class, 3.5L V6 FI DOHC 24V / All Wheel
Drive, Automatic, ONLY 24,900 Miles, VIN 4JGCB65E46A000774.
Here you can find more pictures with the car:
http://picasaweb.google.com/picasaweb3/2006RClasse?authkey=1RQ7u127JaA
(if the above link does not work copy and paste it into a new web
browser window)
It is in EXCELLENT condition; the body and paint are great, no
scratches and no dents; the interior is clean; it has never been
involved in an accident.
I’m an US Air Force Col. currently stationed in UK and the car is
here with me. It was bought in the US and shipped to Europe, but it
was never permanently registered here, the car is still registered in
the US.
The car is for sale locally as well, but there are slim chances of
this to happen. First of all this is a US model car, with the steering
wheel on the left side, as opposed to a UK model, that has the
steering wheel on the right side. And second, in order to be able to
register this car here in UK the buyer would have to pay very high
import/custom taxes. So I decided to sell the car back in the US.
As I’m unable to travel in the near future and I don’t have anyone
back home to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction
through eBay or Craigslist.
The payment will be done through eBay, You will send the payment to
eBay and they hold the money until the car is delivered to you. I get
the money only after the buyer receives the car and makes sure
everything is as agreed. I believe this protects both buyer and seller
and it’s the right way to do this. If the car is not as advertised and
decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions
asked, and shipping back the car will be my concern.
The final price is $5,000 including shipping from Europe to the US and
delivery to your home address.
So if you decide to buy this car or need further information please
get back to me as soon as possible.
Thank you and have a great day,
Col. John G. Clarke
http://www.lakenheath.af.mil/shared/media/photodb/thumbnails/070628-F-1234A-001.JPG
AND ANOTHER;
"John G. Clarke" <johngclarke7@gmail.com> wrote:
Hello,
Yes, the ML is already sold. R-Class is still available. Regarding the price, to be honest with you…this was my brother car but he is not…anymore.I don’t want to get rich by its selling, just want to give it to someone who will take good care…….
As I already said in my first email the car is currently located in UK but still registered in US, so you won’t have to pay anything.
I can have it shipped from here by an US Air Force cargo plane so there won’t be any additional shipping costs. Also I can arrange for a truck to transport the car to your home address or, if you like, you can pick it up from the nearest airport in your area. The shipping will take up to 10 days, depending on your location. The car will arrive with all the papers and documents required for registration and the keys. The clear title and the bill of sale will be already signed by me.
The final price you will have to pay is $5,000. The payment will be done through eBay. They will act as a third party in this transaction. You will send the money to eBay and as soon as the payment is confirmed they will notify me to proceed with the shipping. I will ship the car, you will receive it and you will have 10 days for inspection.
During all this time eBay will hold the money. If you are satisfied with the car and decide to keep it you must inform eBay about this and they will release the money to me. If the car is not as advertised and decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions asked, and shipping back of the car will be my concern. I think this is fair for both of us.
Please take into consideration that I will get paid only after you receive the car and make sure everything is as agreed.
If you agree with these terms and you have the money, send me your full name and the address where you want the car to be delivered and I will initiate the transaction with eBay. You will receive all the transaction details from them.
I will appreciate an answer as soon as possible. Also, feel free to ask me any question you may have.
Thank you,
Col. John G. Clarke
and another:
Hi,
The car is on my name now and the title is clear, no lien.
Please let me know as soon as you can since I have another guy interested…I put him on hold till I have an answer from you .
Thanks again,
Col. John G. Clarke
LOL You should be able to spot this as a scam from a mile away! Shipping to the U.S alone would cost more thank $5k and the blue book value of that car is $26,000.
This guy wants you to send him $5k via paypal.. at which time he will withdraw the money from the paypal account and close the account. He wont be prosecuted or deported for his actions.. basically he will get your $5k and there will be nothing you can do to get it back.